William Frederick Eastaugh - Baker and Confectioner.
William's wife, Winifred Inez Eastaugh (nee Hurr) is now the Manageress.
William is appointed 'Auxiliary Bread Officer". (See illustration) Although bread will not be rationed until 1946, its availability and quality has been strictly controlled since 1942. The 'National loaf' is a wholemeal made to a standard recipe and fortified with calcium and vitamins.
The shop closes on 30 June this year. (SRB1944).
Lowestoft Co-operative Society -
takes over the premises as a bakery the following
William and Winifred Eastaugh, now retired, move into the Hurr family home, No 10 Park Lane, in 1946. William's cousin, Frank Hurr, is the barber at No 10 Stradbroke Road and both William and Frank are Red Cross Ambulance men. They are on duty together on the night of the great flood of January 1953 and experience a terrifying incident. To read about it see No 10 Stradbroke Road.
Other members of the Hurr family may be found at No 53 High Street
We are grateful for the help of John Dixon for information on the Hurr and Eastaugh families..